Honors and Grants

Honors and Awards

Benjamin Brown, Obstetrics and Gynecology, Women & Infants Hospital, was elected to the Planned Parenthood Federation of America’s National Medical Committee.

Adam Lewkowitz and Method Tuuli, Obstetrics and Gynecology, received the 2023 Dru Carlson Memorial Award for Best Research in Ultrasound and Genetics from the Society for Maternal-Fetal Medicine at its annual meeting.

Anagha Lokhande ’20 MD’24 has received the Linda Brodsky, MD, Essay Award from the American Medical Women’s Association. The essay will be published in an upcoming edition of the Medical Student Press Journal, a peer-reviewed publication.

Elizabeth Lokich, Obstetrics and Gynecology, Women & Infants Hospital, has been named the inaugural medical director of Surgical Operations and Quality for Women & Infants Hospital.  



Nicolas Fawzi, Molecular, Cellular Biology and Biochemistry, received $82,360 for “Functional and pathological interactions of TDP-43” from the National Institute of Neurological Disorders and Stroke (NINDS). This was a diversity supplement for Jose Mercado-Ortiz. He also received $200,000 for Rhode Island IDeA Network of Biomedical Research Excellence 2022-2023 from the University of Rhode Island through the National Institute of General Medical Sciences.               

Hannah Frank, Psychiatry and Human Behavior, received $353,818 for “Assessment of Implementation Methods in Sepsis and Respiratory Failure.” The grant is a subaward from Rhode Island Hospital through the National Heart, Lung, and Blood Institute (NHLBI).

Craig T. Lefort, Surgery, received $2,115,806 for "Selective Modulation of Neutrophils in Critical Illness" from the National Institute of General Medical Sciences.

Sharon Rounds, Medicine, received $3 million for "Effect of PDE5 inhibitor on respiratory symptoms in COPD complicated by pulmonary hypertension" from the Department of Veterans Affairs.        

Robert W. Sobol, Pathology and Laboratory Medicine, received $40,125 for “The Paternal Age Effect - Enhanced Germ Cell Mutagenesis modulated by the TRP53/APE1/MDM2 Tumor Suppressor Axis.” The grant is a subaward from the University of Texas Health Science Center through the National Institute on Aging (NIA).

Chloe Zimmerman, MD/PhD candidate, received $207,008 for  “Identifying EEG Markers of Altered Interoceptive Processing in Chronic Pain” from the National Center for Complementary and Integrative Health. Sponsor is Stephanie Jones.